2014 Borlaug Field Award Honors Scientist Under 40

Jamie JohansenAg Group, Award, World Food

The World Food Prize announced that the winner of its award for agricultural leaders under 40 goes to Dr. Bram Govaerts, a native of Belgium now working from Mexico, for his work developing leading-edge, sustainable programs that are transforming subsistence agriculture and unsustainable farming systems in Mexico and other regions of the world into productive and sustainable production operations. Dr. … Read More

Iowa Farm Bureau Renew Rural Iowa Entrepreneur Award

Jamie JohansenAg Group, Award, Farm Bureau

ALMACO, is a community supporter and tireless innovator in the global pursuit to end world hunger. The longtime family-owned manufacturing company was nominated for the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) Renew Rural Iowa Entrepreneur award by employees and Story County Economic Development leaders. Founded in 1880, ALMACO is the oldest company in Story county; their first products were horseshoes for … Read More

Sygenta’s Resistance Fighter of the Year

Jamie JohansenAgribusiness, Award, Syngenta

Syngenta is accepting applications through Sept. 15, 2014 for the Resistance Fighter of the Year Leadership Program at www.resistancefighter.com. In its sixth year, the program is open to dedicated advisors who are passionate about helping growers manage resistance. “In the past, the Resistance Fighter of the Year Leadership Program focused solely on herbicide resistance management – but we recognize that … Read More

Wheat Breeder Honored by World Food Prize

Cindy ZimmermanAward, biotechnology, International, wheat, World Food

The selection of wheat breeder Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram as the 2014 World Food Prize Laureate was announced last week during a ceremony at the State Department where Secretary Kerry gave keynote remarks. “This is the time for a second green revolution,” Kerry said. “That’s why Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram is being honored with the World Food Prize. We are grateful for … Read More

Students Honored for Research at ASTA

Jamie JohansenAg Group, ASTA, Audio, Award, Monsanto, seed

College students from across the country had the opportunity to enter American Seed Trade Research Foundation’s Operation Student Exchange. The winning student was announced during a Future Seed Executives 10th Anniversary Reception at ASTA’s recent annual meeting. Leah Ruff’s poster presentation and research was selected this year’s winner and she received the Roger Kruegar Scholarship. The scholarship honors the late … Read More

ISPA Conference Awards Deadline Extended

Jamie JohansenAg Group, Award, Education

The International Society of Precision Agriculture presents the 12th International Conference on Precision Agriculture. The event will be held July 20-23, 2014 in Sacramento, CA. As the original awards deadline was coincident with holidays for some, we have extended it to May 3, 2014. Please consider nominating a deserving colleague for one of the awards described below, and insure that … Read More