Moore Assumes ASA Presidency

Kelly MarshallAg Group, ASA

Ron Moore has moved into the position of president of the American Soybean Association (ASA).  As vice president in 2016, Moore assumed his new position during the annual meeting in St. Louis, Missouri earlier this week.

“The industry faces many challenges and many opportunities in the year to come, and I am excited to tackle all of them,” Moore said. “As we work to advance farmer priorities on our most important issues like trade, biotechnology and others. I look forward to drawing on the multiple talents of our dedicated board of directors to continue our success for soybean farmers.”

John Heisdorffer was elected vice president of ASA, placing him in line to become president in 2018.

Richard Wilkins, who served in 2016 as ASA’s president, now moves to the role of chairman, and outgoing Chairman Wade Cowan of Brownfield, Texas, rotates off the Governing Committee. Davie Stephens, of Wingo, Ky., will serve a third consecutive term as ASA’s secretary, and Bill Gordon, of Worthington, Minn., was elected to the position of ASA treasurer. Bret Davis, of Delaware, Ohio; Kevin Scott, of Valley Springs, S.D.; Sam Butler, of New Hope, Ala.; and Eric Maupin, of Dyersburg, Tenn., were elected as at-large members of ASA’s Governing Committee.

Also at the meeting, the ASA board celebrated retiring directors Mike Cunningham, of Illinois, Ray Gaesser and Mark Jackson, of Iowa, Kevin Hoyer and Dan Roe, of Wisconsin, Ted Glaub, of Arkansas, Lance Peterson, of Minnesota and Wyatt Whitford, of North Carolina. ASA welcomed new directors Stan Born, of Dunlap, Ill.; Brad Doyle, of Weiner, Ark.; Morey Hill, of Madris, Iowa; Brian Kemp, of Sibley, Iowa; Brad Kremer, of Pittsville, Wis.; Kurt Krueger, of Rothsay, Minn.; Don Lutz, of Scandinavia, Wis.; Brian Ogletree, of Milner, Ga.; Bill Raben, of Ridgeway, Ill.; Rob Shaffer, of El Paso, Ill. and Jimmy Thomas, of Timberlake, N.C.