Dale Cowan Wins ICCA Adviser of Year Award

Joanna SchroederAgribusiness, agronomy, Award

Dale CowanAGRIS and Wanstead Cooperatives’ Dale Cowan, of Ontario, Canada, has won the International Certified Crop Adviser’s (ICCA) Adviser of the Year Award. The honor recognizes a certified crop advisor who delivers exceptional customer service, is highly innovative, has shown they are a leader in their field and has contributed substantially to the exchange of ideas and transfer of agronomic knowledge within the ag industry.

Cowan embodies all of these traits and more in his role as senior agronomist and sales manager. In this role, he advises large growers and mentors 14 Certified Crop Advisors (CCA). Combined, Cowan reviews recommendations across 275,000 acres comprised of over 300 key accounts. Over more than 35 years, he has advised growers on corn, soybeans, and wheat as well as cucumbers, watermelons, and tomatoes.

“Dale is a great example of the knowledge, experience, innovation, and ethical conduct that the CCA program has come to be recognized for,” AGRIS general manager Jim Campbell said. “Through his professional and volunteer activities, Dale has been instrumental in the development and promotion of sustainable agronomy and precision farming practices throughout Ontario.”

Cowan’s dedication to his growers and the ag industry goes far beyond the field. He is a representative, board member and president of the Ontario Agri-Business Association (OABA); serves as the chair of the Ontario CCA Board; the vice chair of Provincial Nutrient Management Advisory Committee; works with Ontario Drinking Water Stewardship Advisory Committee on Funding; and is active on the Crops Input Committee/Agriculture Research and Education Committee. He is also the CCA representative to the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs Soil Health Working Group and is a member of the Ontario CCA Exam Committee.

The award is given on an annual basis at the American Society of Agronomy (ASA) Annual Meeting, and consists of hotel and travel expenses for two to the ASA Annual Meeting, $2,000 honorarium, a commemorative plaque, and a one-year membership in the American Society of Agronomy.