WSSA Honors 30 Award Winners

Kelly MarshallAg Group, Award, Weed control

wssaThirty members of the Weed Science Society of America have been honored for their contributions to weed science.  The awards program was held in San Juan, Puerto Rico during the organization’s annual meeting.

“Our annual awards program recognizes the many outstanding scientists who are spearheading innovations and advancing the weed science profession through their research, teaching, publishing and outreach,” said Dallas Peterson, Ph.D., president of WSSA.

This year’s winners include:

Fellow Awards (WSSA’s Highest Recognition): Donn Shilling, Ph.D., University of Georgia, and William K. Vencill, Ph.D., University of Georgia
Outstanding Extension Award: Shawn Askew, Ph.D., Virginia Tech
Outstanding Teacher Award: Anil Shrestha, Ph.D., California State University, Fresno
Outstanding Research Award: Carol Mallory-Smith, Ph.D., Oregon State University
Outstanding Graduate Student Award: Rodrigo Werle, Ph.D. candidate, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Outstanding Paper Award, Weed Science: Seedbank and Field Emergence of Weeds in Glyphosate Resistant Cropping Systems in the United States Bryan Young, Ph.D., Purdue University, Corresponding Author.
Outstanding Paper Award, Weed Technology: Mesotrione Activity on Crabgrass (Digitaria spp.) as Influenced by Nitrogen Fertilizer Rate, Source, and Timing (login required), Leslie Beck, Ph.D., New Mexico State University, corresponding author.
Outstanding Early Career Weed Scientist: Jacob Barney, Ph.D., Virginia Tech
Outstanding Industry Award: Roger Gast, Ph.D., Dow AgroSciences
Outstanding Reviewer Awards: Thomas Mueller, Ph.D., University of Tennessee; Karen Renner, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Public Service Award: Jill Schroeder, Ph.D., USDA/ARS Office of Pest Management Policy
Honorary Member Award: Jose Luis Gonzalez-Anjujar, Ph.D., Institute of Sustainable Agriculture, Spain

To learn more about the winners and their work see the 2016 annual meeting awards program.