Bayer CropScience Young Farmer Sustainability Award

Cindy ZimmermanBayer CropScience, sustainability

Bayer CropScience has launched its third annual Young Farmer Sustainability Award, which recognizes growers 40 years or under who demonstrate sustainability on his or her farm. The 2013 award will be selected by a group of industry experts and Bayer leaders, and will be awarded in February at the 2013 Ag Issues Forum held in conjunction with Commodity Classic in Orlando, Fla.

The first award winner in 2011 was Ryan Kirby of Belcher, La., and last year John Shepard of Blackstone, Va. received the award.

Growers who are excelling in the areas of economic, environmental and innovative practices on the farm are encouraged to apply for the award. First Place wins a new Toughbook computer and all-expense paid trips to the 2013 Commodity Classic in Orlando, Fla., and a scholarship to Farm Journal Corn College. The application deadline is January 24, 2013.

Click here for more information.