2012 PrecisonAg Awards of Excellence Winners

Chuck ZimmermanAg Group, Audio, ICPA

The recipients of the 2012 PrecisionAg Awards of Excellence were honored during the International Conference on Precision Agriculture. Thanks to Paul Schrimpf, group editor of the CropLife Media Group, for the photo since I could not stay for the luncheon at which the awards were presented. Pictured are the award winners with Elliott Nowels (l), Director of the PrecisionAg Institute, which manages the awards. I did get a chance to visit with the Precision Farmer of the Year, David Cox, DAVCO, and learned more about how he’s using precision agriculture on his sugar cane farm in Australia. You can listen to that interview below.

Three outstanding individuals have been chosen to receive the 2012 PrecisionAg Awards of Excellence, an annual program honoring exceptional achievement in precision agriculture adoption, use, and education. The awards are sponsored by the PrecisionAg Institute and its supporting partners. This sixth class of recipients included for the first time a grower from outside the United States. Below is the 2012 class of recipients:

Crop Adviser/Entrepreneur Award

Darryl Starr, Advanced Ag Solutions, LLC, Lafayette, IN

Educator/Researcher Award

Terry Brase, Kirkwood Community College, Cedar Rapids, IA

Precision Farmer of the Year Award

David Cox, Ayr, Queensland, Australia

Listen to my interview with David here: [wpaudio url=”http://zimmcomm.biz/icpa/icpa-12-cox.mp3″ text=”Interview with David Cox”]

11th International Conference on Precision Agriculture Photo Album

Precision.AgWired.com coverage of the International Conference on Precision Agriculture is sponsored by John Deere