Precision Ag Awards

Cindy ZimmermanAudio, Education, Equipment, General

Precision Ag Awards of ExcellenceAt the opening session of the 2007 InfoAg Conference last week, several awards were presented by Paul Schrimpf, group editor, Croplife Media Group. The awards are designed to honor those throughout the industry who are making significant achievements in precision agriculture technology adoption, use, education and research.

Receiving the awards were:

Arthur F. Lange, Ph.D., A leader in the creation and development of the Trimble Agriculture Division, which has helped make precision ag practical and affordable for many.

Scott A. Shearer, Ph.D., Department of Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering at the University of Kentucky.

TeegardinNorm Teegardin, Founder and CEO of Farm Works Software Co. and Farm Works Journal.

Chuck Zimmerman interviewed Norm Teegardin after receiving the award about his work in precision farming. Norm says his company started into making simple software for farm record keeping in 1992, which led to tracking software for chemical reporting. “From then we went on to precision ag and its just begun,” he says.

“The thing I would like to see from the industry is sharing of data, because that’s a big advantage for the farmer,” he added. “From a certain color combine to a certain color tractor to a different computer and back to the co-op.”

Listen to Chuck’s interview with Norm here: Listen to MP3 Norm Teegardin (5:00 min mp3)